Outlooks from my First Solo Trip

What spending more than usual time with myself made me think

I am used to being alone.

My parents work 9-5. I don’t have siblings. I spend most of my time within the four walls of my room.

It’s not like I don’t like to socialize. I enjoy my time with people. I love to meet as many folks as my social energy would allow. But I also value my solitude and, in some sense, enjoy it too.

But the solo trip was different.

At home, I always have something to keep me occupied. Be it books, movies, writing, music, watering plants, or any other hobby.

On the trip, although I spent a fair amount of time talking to strangers, moments like traveling long distances, lying in my bed doing nothing, or sitting by myself in the common area gave me ‘no activity solitude.’

This little extra-alone-time-than-usual helped me observe my thoughts a little longer. Perhaps, it also gave me some new angles to think from.

I’m dumping them here.

Travel is about people, even on solo trips

I’m a big proponent of ‘people need people.’

The first 20 hours of the travel were tough. I didn’t visit any places or meet any people. All I did was move from one place to another, figuring out what to do, and eventually did nothing.

The only time in those 20 hours worth mentioning is the time I spent talking to my co-passenger on the bus.

And when did it get better?

It was on the 21st hour when I said hi to a group of folks chilling in the hostel.This was around 8 pm, and guess what, we all passed the vibe check and were partying till 5 am.

So far, this is the idea of travel for me:People, Stories, and the Places in between.

This was from that night!! I like happy faces

Can I limit perfectionism?

I’m a perfectionist.

Whatever task I take up, no matter how small, I want it to be the best version of my work. Maybe it’s also because I take great pride in what I create—be it newsletters, work I do for my clients, or even if I have to gift something to a friend.

Sometimes I let a few things slide.All the other times, I am too harsh on myself.

I never felt bad for being a perfectionist (Or should I say for being strict with myself?) I think it’s because it brings out the best in me. It helps me generate quality: That’s why you love this newsletter.

Conversely, I realized it’s not always needed for me to be perfect.

  • I don’t need to look like a dancer when I dance.I just need to vibe to the songs.

  • I don’t need to paint like Picasso.I just need to love creating art.

  • I don’t need to play like a Pro with friends.I just need to enjoy the sport with homies.

Clearly, there is joy beyond perfectionism I failed to embrace.

It made me think,

Perfectionism, followed by Productivity

17th May 2023, 2:40 pm, Wednesday:I was in the middle of the forest, top of the hill. No trace of humans in a radius of six kilometers. It was raining heavily—that’s when Coorg is at its best. Greenery all around, Masala Chai on my desk, and I’m working on the most interesting project so far in 2023.

Yet, I was unhappy that I wasn’t roaming around and visiting places.

The moment it struck me, I was like, ‘Why?’

It wasn’t like I could do something about it. There was no chance I could step out in the rain. Then why this urge of being productive and visiting all the places?

I was at a good place, doing cool work, around some crazy people, yet I was irritated for not using every second in the most productive way possible.

In doing so, I missed out on what I would have enjoyed otherwise.

Why can’t I just sit, accept, and enjoy what’s around me; especially when things are uncontrollable?

Well, out of many thoughts that hit me, these were a few I could write clearly about and are worth mentioning in the newsletter.

If you love reading Vikra’s Café, please share it on your socials or share the link with your friends. Would mean the world to me.

Writers want their work to get more eyeballs, and I am no different.

Take care.See ya soon!