Kota Factory S3

is it worth watching?

In partnership with

I never really got a chance to tell you how much I love Kota Factory and all the characters in the show. It’s one of the series I rewatch when I’m in the mood for good drama, and rewatchability is a huge huge factor in deciding whether I enjoyed my time or not.

The reason I am talking about the show is the third (and final) season is now streaming on Netflix. I finished watching it within twenty-four hours of its release and wanted to drop my thoughts while they were fresh.

The way I am gonna talk about this show might make you think Netflix or TVF sponsored this issue (I wish hehe; manifesting) but but but, we do have a sponsor for today. Say hello and do visit their page 👇️ 

The future of presentations, powered by AI

Gamma is a modern alternative to slides, powered by AI. Create beautiful and engaging presentations in minutes. Try it free today.

Now, since the small talk is done, let me give a little disclaimer before I begin: This is not a review or anything of the sort. Whenever I talk about a movie/show, it’s always about what I loved + didn’t like and never about ‘this is not good.’ In short, I am not a critic but a fan. I always talk from a perspective of how I enjoyed my time as a viewer and what I would have liked better.

I’ll talk about my favourite scenes—like the ones I loved, what they meant to me, and some personal thoughts.

The essay will contain spoilers. You will absolutely enjoy this if you have already watched season three—and is written keeping Kota Factory viewers in mind.

1/ One of the best character openings

People have been telling Jeetu’s character will drive on a rocky road, but I didn’t expect him to have personal issues. I thought the struggles would be about running AIMERS or the dilemma of ranks vs preparation, but man, what an opening!

Jeetu Bhaiya’s character was all sorted. He’s young, successful, happy, a dream teacher for any student and someone who is always there to solve not only academic issues but also (as Meenal would say) non-academic, personal, financial, and romantic.

He took pride and responsibility in giving his students direction and being there for them when they needed the most.

This scene is my absolute favourite. I don’t think I could watch the scene again the same way after knowing what happened.

For context, Vernali was satisfied with her mains exam and did not want to give the advanced because she was worried about what others would think if she failed. Jeetu convinced her to take the exam, telling she should always aim big and it’s completely fine if you get rejected. Vernali took the exam but didn’t pass. It affected her and led to suicide.

This made Jeetu Bhaiya question his approach. For a guy who was absolutely clear about his relationship with students, this put him through a dilemma and trauma he never imagined.

He lived with the stress throughout the season, and I love how the makers showed the human side of Jeetu Bhaiya instead of glorifying him as a lead.

2/ Missed the cute moments

Be it between Vartika and Vaibhav or Meenal and Meena, season two had the cutest moments that are soooooo native to TVF. I wish I could have seen more such moments in the latest season, but I understand. The JEE entrance was a couple of months away and there no room for romantic drama - it’s all serious preparation and the filmmakers pulled it off beautifully.

Humour was comparatively less too, but it was subtle and good.

3/ Pooja Didi is the new Jeetu Bhaiya

Ah these short, but impactful characters 🤌 

I loved everything about Pooja Didi. The way she had her boundaries, her teaching style, knowing when to interfere and when to step back - everything about her is beautifully written. She was what Jeetu Bhaiya was in season one, but with more experience and a set of hardships.

4/ The consistency in Philosophy

The show focussed on a core philosophy of promoting successful preparation and not successful results from season one. Jeetu and his institute is all about this approach, and the podcast in season three summarizes this philosophy in the best possible way.

Some pointers from Jeetu Bhaiya if you can’t recall:

  • Students’ problems are not childish. These hurdles are big for them and we disregarding them as childish problems will only make it worse for the 15-and-16-year olds.

  • Ranks should be celebrated and so should be the preparation. Some students might not cross the cut off (let’s assume 100 marks) but they’ll progress and grow from getting 40 on average to 90—calling them a failure for not scoring those 10 marks isn’t fair.

  • We always run behind the rank. It’s the collective failure of society and the education system to label the students who don’t qualify as failures.

5/ Meenaaaaaaaaaaaaa 🫶 

I love Meena. It’s one character I have always found pyaara. From his background to what he has achieved, I feel the character has completed one of the many life’s full circles.

His innocence with his friends and ethics when he was short of money is admirable, to say the least. Not to forget all the cute moments and the innocent jokes he gave us through three seasons.

We learn methods and principles from our teachers and we take their legacy forward in many ways. I could relate to the teaching parallels between Meena and Jeetu - in Meena’s short career as a teacher. Reminded me of the times I passed on the knowledge I received to my juniors in sports.

6/ Can we appreciate the conversation between Gagan sir and Jeetu Bhaiya?

Jeetu’s apology and Gagan being upfront about his opinions have taught communication lessons better than most self-help books in the market. It’s a perfect example of how you can agree to disagree and your relationships are just an honest apology and an episode away from returning to normal.

7/ Gagan sir

I don’t know if Kota Factory fans are talking about Gagan sir enough, but I think we should. He started off as someone who was not interested in peeking into other people’s business and was only here to do his job.

But he was always present whenever his institute and students needed him, especially when Jeetu avoided his responsibility when Vaibhav burst out.

8/ Group Hug

I was the guy who didn’t go to college much, but the group hug reminded me of my school farewell and some moments in sports. It was beautiful and emotional (btw, Shivangi is one of my favourite characters too.)

9/ Vaibhav

IMO, Vaibhav’s character represents the majority of students—the students who want to do well, insecure, all heart, get happy with progress and panic during tough times, believe in competition but wish well for their friends, and the results affect them—and the major chunk who don’t make it through in exams but eventually figure out life.

I loved his monologue, and his performance after he failed was just too real. All his feelings were valid, relatable, and what most of us would empathise with.

The way his story ended proves the core points of Kota Factory:

  • You can be late with your decisions

  • You might not get what you deserve initially

  • You work hard for your goals and go from below par to good—THAT ITSELF IS A HUGE SUCCESS

  • Despite your full efforts, you might still not reach your goals, but that’s not the end of the world

I was so relieved Jeetu Bhaiya was present when Vaibhav cried. Jeetu Bhaiya needed to be there with Vaibhav as much as Vaibhav needed Jeetu Bhaiya.

“It’s better if life’s important decisions are your own” will stay in my heart for a long time. It is similar to MS Dhoni’s philosophy of “I am happy to fail on my terms.”

I couldn’t agree more.

10/ Bye Kota

I cried in the Climax. It was difficult to see Jeetu Bhaiya leave Kota—and students coming to see him, with scenes from previous seasons sliding by only made it more emotional.

But it was a practical and natural character progression. In many ways, it’s a promotion for the greater good, even though Jeetu had to go through a tough time.

The last scene… I am sure it gave Jeetu closure, knowing Vaibhav made his decision and chose what he wanted to do.

That’s everything I had to say about one of my all-time favourite shows, Kota Factory. Share it with your friends who loved the show if you enjoyed reading this.

See ya next week!

Love,
Vikra